staff & board of directors


Michelle Bolton King, Executive Director

Michelle Bolton King is a native of Des Moines, with 30 years professional experience in arts administration. She holds degrees from the University of Iowa, the University of Paris IV–the Sorbonne, and the George Washington University in Washington, D.C. She became executive director of ASAP, the After School Arts Program, in 2009, coinciding with the program becoming an independent not-for-profit organization. Early in her career she worked with the founder of the National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution; the quarterly journal American Anthropologist; and the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art in Kansas City. Since 2000, she has provided consulting services to art museums and organizations, independent curators, and publishers in the United States and Europe. Michelle cares deeply about young people and believes that the arts, in particular, are invaluable in developing critical thinking skills, self-confidence, and creative self-expression.

Robin Mohrfeld, Program Coordinator

Robin Mohrfeld joined ASAP in 2021 as Program Coordinator. She oversees all aspects of program delivery to ensure success for all involved. With a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the University of Iowa, Robin brings a wealth of experience in both the arts and management. Robin is a ceramics artist and in her past has served as a docent at the Des Moines Art Center, a retail store manager. Robin was born and raised in Des Moines and currently resides in Beaverdale with her husband, son and two dogs.

Emily Slattery Phillips, Program Manager

Emily joined ASAP in 2022 as Program Manager after teaching art in the public schools for 16 years. She has a BFA in Photography, a BA in Music, and MA in Art from the University of Iowa and is currently working on a MS in Library and Information Science. Emily is a potter and has a ceramics business called First Light Pottery. She also teaches ceramics classes at the Des Moines Art Center. Emily lives in Des Moines with her husband, three kids, two dogs, and two cats.

Board of Directors

Katherine Hutchison, President, Project7 Design

Janae Gray, Vice President, Mittera

Emily Webb, Past President, Contentful

Elizabeth Ferreira, Treasurer, Global Atlantic Financial Group

Jill Wells, Secretary, BFA, CADC, Jill Wells Art

Steve Callistein, Corteva Agriscience

Kathleen Davenport, Des Moines Public Schools

Dr. Michael Elsbernd, St. John’s Lutheran Church

Dwayne Krpan, BTC Capital Management

Kellee Mullen, Wellmark

Yvette Sanchez, Krause Group

Mackenzie Sheehan, Principal Financial Group

Theresa Swaim, Farm Bureau Financial

Kalen Truong, Alumni Advisory Member, Student, University of Pennsylvania

Michelle Bolton King, Ex Officio, Executive Director of ASAP